For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

HRSMC research groups

Overview of all participating groups



Group /University/ staff members


Biocatalysis (UvA/HIMS)

Dr. F. Mutti


Biomimetic and Biomolecular Chemistry (VU/AIMMS)

Prof. dr. T.N. Grossmann, Dr. Ivana Drienovská, Dr. Sven Hennig


Heterogeneous Catalysis and Sustainable Chemistry (UvA/HIMS)  

Prof. dr. G. Rothenberg1, Dr. N. Yan, Dr. A. Garcia



Functional Materials (UvA/HIMS)

Dr. S. Grecea



Catalysis Engineering (UvA/HIMS)

Dr. N.R. Shiju



Homogeneous, Supramolecular and Bio-Inspired Catalysis (UvA/HIMS)

Prof. dr. B. de Bruin1, Prof. dr. J.N.H. Reek1, Dr. A.W. Ehlers, Prof. dr. C.J. Elsevier, Dr. T.J. Mooibroek, Dr. Ir. J.I. van der Vlugt (guest appointment)



Metals in Catalysis, Biomimetics & Inorganic Materials (UL/LIC)

Prof. dr. E. Bouwman1 , Prof. dr. S. Bonnet, Dr. D. Hetterscheid


Supramolecular and Biomaterials Chemistry (UL/LIC)

Dr. S.J. Wezenberg


Synthetic and Bio-organic Chemistry (VU/AIMMS)

Dr. E. Ruijter, Prof. dr. ir. R.V.A. Orru (guest appointment)


Synthetic Organic Chemistry (UvA/HIMS)

Prof. dr. J.H. van Maarseveen, Prof. dr. P. Timmerman,
Dr. M.Á. Fernández-Ibáñez, Dr. S. Ingemann, Dr. J.C. Slootweg



Synthetic Organic Chemistry (RU/SOC)

Prof. dr. F.P.J.T. Rutjes, Dr. T.J. Boltje, Dr. M.C. Feiters



Biomolecular Spectroscopy (VU/LaserLaB)

Dr. F. Ariese


Biophysical Organic Chemistry (UL/LIC)     

Prof. dr. H.J.M. de Groot, Dr. Alia, Dr. F. Buda, Dr. G.J.A. Sevink           


BioAnalytical Chemistry (VU, AIMMS)

Prof. dr. A.M. Rijs

Laboratory Astrophysics and Astrochemistry (UL/LION)

Prof. dr. H.  Linnartz


Molecular Nano-Optics and Spins (UL/LION)

Prof. dr. M. Orrit, Dr. P. Gast, Dr. M. I. Huber


Molecular Photonics (UvA/HIMS)

Prof. dr. A.M. Brouwer, Prof. dr. W.J. Buma, Prof. dr. S. Woutersen, Dr. ir. A. Petrignani-Taube, Dr. R. M. Williams, Dr. H. Zhang
Dr. S. Castellanos Ortega (guest appointment) (ARCNL)


Molecular Structure and Dynamics - FELIX / Molecular and Biophysics (RU/IMM)

Prof. dr. J. Oomens, Dr. J.M. Bakker


Surface Chemistry and Catalysis (UL/LIC)

Prof. dr. M. Koper1, Dr. W.T. Fu, Prof. dr. I.M.N. Groot, Dr. D. Hetterscheid, Dr. L.B.F. Juurlink, Dr. R.V. Mom



Biomolecular Simulation and Modeling (VU, EMS)

Dr. D.P. Geerke




Computational Chemistry (UvA/HIMS)

Prof. dr. P.G. Bolhuis, Prof. dr. E.J. Meijer, Dr. B. Ensing, Dr. D. Dubbeldam, Dr. J. Vreede


Theoretical Chemistry (VU/EMS)

Prof. dr. F.M. Bickelhaupt1, Prof. dr. L. Visscher, Prof. dr. C. Fonseca Guerra, Prof. dr. P. Gori Giorgi, Dr. O. Gritsenko


Theoretical Chemistry (UL/LIC)

Prof. dr. G.J. Kroes, Dr. J. Meyer, Prof. dr. C. Fonseca Guerra (extraordinary professor)


Theoretical Chemistry (RU/IMM)

Prof. dr. ir. G.C. Groenenboom, Dr. H.M. Cuppen, Prof. dr. F.M. Bickelhaupt (extraordinary professor)


Theory in Surface Chemistry and Catalysis (UL/LIC)

Dr. Katharina Doblhoff-Dier

1also NIOK