For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
Understanding the structure of molecules and their chemistry from first principles represents the holy grail of theoretical chemistry.

Many molecular properties can be understood directly from the electronic structure. When considering reactivity, it is in many cases necessary to also treat the dynamics of the nuclei taking part in the reaction. Activities of the theoretical chemistry groups of the HRSMC take place in both areas of research.

Participating research groups


Group /University/ staff members


Computational Chemistry (UvA/HIMS)

Prof. dr. P.G. Bolhuis, Prof. dr. E.J. Meijer, Dr. B. Ensing, Dr. D. Dubbeldam, Dr. J. Vreede, Dr. I.M. Ilie, Dr. A. Pérez de Alba Ortíz


Theoretical Chemistry (VU/EMS)

Prof. dr. F.M. Bickelhaupt, Prof. dr. L. Visscher, Prof. dr. C. Fonseca Guerra, Prof. dr. P. Gori Giorgi, Dr. T.A. Hamlin, Dr. K. Giesbertz, Dr. P. Vermeeren, Dr. A. Förster


Theoretical Chemistry (UL/LIC Energy & Sustainability)

Prof. dr. G.J. Kroes, Dr. J. Meyer, Dr. M.F. Somers, Prof. dr. C. Fonseca Guerra, Dr. A.L.M. Lamberts


Theory in surface science and electrochemistry (UL/LIC)

Dr. Katharina Doblhoff-Dier


Theoretical Chemistry (RU/IMM)

Prof. dr. ir. G.C. Groenenboom, Dr. H.M. Cuppen, Prof. dr. F.M. Bickelhaupt (extraordinary professor)


Biomolecular Simulation and Modeling (VU, EMS)

Dr. D.P. Geerke